

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 16th June 2013



Xylia Allen Mesmerizing In Mosman

By Greyhound Recorder GRNSW Website

Victorian trained greyhounds provided the quinella in the Group 1 Peter Mosman Classic (520m) at Sydney's Wentworth Park on Saturday night.

Freakish talent Xylia Allen (\$2.80) claimed her second Group 1 feature within a month, remaining undefeated in the series to take out the \$75,000 to-the-winner Rapidvite Peter Mosman Classic Final (520m).

Winner of the Group 1 Sapphire Crown at Sandown Park just on a month ago, the Graeme Bate-trained daughter of Turanza Bale extended her winning sequence to five with Saturday night's barnstorming victory, posting a fast 29.47 to register her 15th career win.

Beginning the best she ever has over the sprint journey, Xylia Allen put the issue well beyond doubt within a few strides of Saturday's decider, leading throughout to defeat kennelmate Schroder Bale (\$5.10) by 1 ¾ lengths, with the runner-up super in defeat.

Triggsy (\$8.80) and Clockwise ran terrific races for John and Jane Carruthers, continuing their top form to finish third and fourth respectively.

But all the praise goes with the winner Xylia Allen - going from strength-tostrength - quickly elevating herself to the top echelon of sprinters with her impressive performances over the past couple of months.

AUSTRALIAN GREYHDUNU RAGING ASSUGIATION

The attention of the age restricted circuit now turns to The Meadows, with the Group 1 Maturity kicking off in a few weeks' time.

First run in 1952 as the Bi Annual Classic, the series was re-named in honour of former GBOTA Chairman Peter Mosman in 1988.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Clockwise (\$21.10), 5th Johnny Fire (\$4.50), 6th Iona Seven (\$7.50) 7th Quiz Bale (\$14.70) and Shadow Lane (\$21.70).

Xylia Allen is raced by Janice Wheeler and is trained by Graeme Bate at Lara in Victoria. By Turanza Bale form Wheeler's brood bitch Tayah Bale (Droopy's Vieri x Francesca Bale). She is a Black Bitch whelped April 2011 she has won 15 of her 31 starts and has been placed on nine occasions and with the \$75,000 first prize for the Peter Mosman Classic it took her current stake earnings to \$269,910.

The Classic was first run at Harold Park in 1952 when won by Robin Buchanan. In those days the race was called the Bi-Annual Classic and remained the same until 1988 when the GBOTA renamed the Classic honouring legendary administrator the late Peter Mosman. Like all other GBOTA features it moved with the club to Wentworth Park in 1987. Some outstanding sprinters have won the race over its journey going back to Miss Oakey (53), Tell You Why (59), Classy Jane (the dam of Black Top 60), Rokoko (68), The Smoother (70), Satan's Legend (78), Tegimi (79), Promises Free (82), Brother Fox (85), Farmer Wilson (91), How's The Fort (92), Worthy Reward (93), Tap Dance (94), Solve The Puzzle (98), Great Wish (99), Winsome Dollars (2001), Elite State (2003), Surf Lorian (2004) and last year's winner Garrick Bale. Listed below is the honour roll in full.

1952 Robin Buchanan, 1953 Miss Oakey, 1954 Farrago Hawk, 1955 Proto Girl, 1956 Double Jade, 1957 Fine Earl, 1958 Town Ghost, 1959 Tell You Why, 1960 Classy Jane, 1961 Silver Khan, 1962 Nimble Aye, 1963 Keen Linen, 1964 Sudden Linen, 1965 Satyr Rocket,1966 Perfect Socks, 1967 Dark Durante, 1968 Rokoko, 1969 Silent Ring, 1970 The Smoother, 1971 Alray Lad, 1972 Toouli, 1973 Dusty Trail, 1974 Early Copy, 1975 Arctic Raider, 1976 Proper Calibre, 1977 Ripa's Regard, 1978 Satan's Legend, 1979 Tegimi, 1980 Dick's Gem, 1981 Merry Tempest, 1982 Promises Free, 1983 Acacia Park, 1984 Crathie Drive, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Yob Yobbo, 1987 Paris In Spring, 1988 Kinjarra, 1989 Style Leader, 1990 Classy Spider, 1991 Farmer Wilson, 1992 How's The Fort, 1993 Worthy Reward, 1994 Tap Dance1995 Patchtime, 1996 Casino Jack, 1997 William Wallace, 1998 Solve The Puzzle, 1999 Great Wish, 2000 Token Wave, 2001 Winsome Dollars, 2002 Big Sam Banner, 2003 Elite State, 2004 Surf Lorian, 2005 Over Flo, 2006 Faithful Love, 2007 Run The Risk, 2008 Lend Us Fifty, 2009 Devine Road, 2010 Tuiaki, 2011 Allen Harper and 2012 Garrick Bale.

Thanks for story content in the above release Greyhound Recorder GRNSW Website

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown
AGRA Publicity Officer
Tel: 03 97691234
Mob: 0423 129 950
nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton
AGRA Executive Officer
Tel: 08 8243 7100
Mob: 0438 042 838
hashton@agra.com.au